skip to main content
Books of Magic #3

This is the master image and may not represent the condition of the sellers item

Books of Magic #3

Series Years:

On Sale Date:



Comic Book




United States

Additional Information

Collector Notes:

(See also Mister E and Arcana Annual)

4 issue Mini-Series.

DC Comics originally tasked writer J.M. DeMatteis to come up with a new series that would focus on DC various magical properties. Although the project initially fell through, DC later approached Neil Gaiman to pen the mini-series. Gaiman introduced the young boy Tim Hunter as his protagonist and had four mystics John Constantine, Phantom Stranger, Dr. Occult and Mister E lead Tim on a journey acrros time and space while meeting almost every magical or supernatural character in the DC Universe. Each issue was painted by a different artist, John Bolton, Scott Hampton, Charles Vess and Paul Johnson.

The series proved popular and Tim Hunter's adventures continued into the Mister E mini-series and Arcana Annual before landing his own ongoing monthly series The Books of Magic in 1994 under Vertigo. Although this miniseries was published by DC, the numerous spin-offs were all published under the then new mature reader's imprint, Vertigo.

The series has been collected in two Trade Paper Backs and a Deluxe Hardcover edition.

Publisher Imprint:




Be the first to write a review

You will be opting in to receive a weekly email from Comichaus regarding new content to the App and other Comichaus news. You can opt out at any time.